Review: The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Next on my list of favorite books is The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. Definitely one of the best YA books I’ve ever read.
Goodreads Description:
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

My Review:

This book is, quite simply, stunning. Magical, hilarious, heart breaking, passionate, real…it has captivated me and left me breathless.

I have so much I want to say about it, but at the same time I want to keep all my thoughts to myself and say only that this book is easily close to the top of the best books I have ever read list.

Within two pages, I had a huge grin on my face. Within ten pages I had probably laughed about seven times. Within twenty pages I already had a long list of quotes in my head I wanted to remember. By page fifty I had gone between laughing and crying so many times that my head was spinning.

I did not get up, look up or think about anything else for the three or so hours I spent reading this book. I felt these characters, they might as well be real people. Within a few pages I felt the absence of Bailey like I’d known her for years.

Seriously, get yourself to the bookstore. Don’t walk, RUN. Buy this book and prepare to fawn at my feet for the rest of time for convincing you to do so. Fans of contemporary YA will love it. People that don’t think they’re fans of contemporary YA will love it. YOU. WILL. LOVE. IT.

Have I made my point? 🙂

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge