Six Degrees of Separation: Burial Rites

So, two bloggers – Emma and Annabel – started a new meme called Six Degreeds of Separation. It sounded like a lot of fun, so I decided to join in!

Basically, they pick a book and anyone who wants to participate makes a list of six books in a “Read this…then that” format. It can be as specific or general as you want! Jane Austen can lead to Stephen King can lead to Nora Roberts. Whatever!

So, this month the chosen book is Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. It’s a really brilliantly written and atmospheric story set in 19th century Iceland surrounding a woman accused of murder.

Burial Rites

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent Goodreads / Amazon

six degrees

The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare Goodreads / Amazon / My Review

This has always struck me as a similar read to Burial Rites in a lot of ways – a harshly judged and misunderstood outsider in a community + a super atmospheric setting.

Across the Nightingale Floor by Lian Hearn Goodreads / Amazon

Oh, you want to talk more about books with birds in the title? Okay! This is the first in a fantasy series set in a fictional Oriental setting. It’s absolutely brilliant and stands alone just fine.

The Emperor’s Soul by Brandon Sanderson Goodreads / Amazon / My Review

I absolutely can’t bring up a fantasy Oriental setting without talking about this one. It’s a novella written by one of my all time favorite fantasy authors – I will always be ready to fight that Sanderson is the king of world building. Plus, this is a novella. Lots of fantastic world building compacted into less than 200 pages.

Big Boy by Ruthie Knox Goodreads / Amazon / My Review

Speaking of wonderful and complex novellas – this is a contemporary romance with trains, family drama…and enough chemistry to start a fire.

Calico Palace by Gwen Bristow Goodreads / Amazon

Drama, chemistry…trains? How about Calico Palace, one of my favorite novels set during one of my favorite settings – San Francisco during the Gold Rush.

Ride the Wind by Lucia St. Clair Robson Goodreads / Amazon

Talking about my favorite historical periods always brings me local – this is a fictionalized account of a true story about a young girl who was kidnapped in 1836 by the Comanche Indians. She grew up and ended up raising her own family as one of them before being discovered and more or less forced away from them. Really fascinating and heartbreaking story.

{ 4 comments… add one }
  • Annabel Smith April 10, 2014, 1:38 am

    I love how you linked two books with birds in the title. It’s fascinating to see the links people make. Thanks for joining in and spreading the word.
    Annabel Smith recently posted..Top 10 Books that Crack Me UpMy Profile

    Reply
  • Kelly April 10, 2014, 10:25 am

    What a rabbit hole you fell down!
    Hmm… I would say Burial Rites, The Enchanted (similar premise and writing) Night Circus (enchanting setting) Water for Elephants (circus) The Color of Water (Water in title – beautiful book) Truth and Beauty (because while we’re talking about beautiful memoirs…) Wow, look where I ended up!

    Reply
  • Rory April 10, 2014, 10:39 am

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE The Witch of Blackbird Pond. It is one of my favorites books from when I was younger, so much so that I used to want to name my daughter Mercy (if I ever had one, which hasn’t happened yet). It’s fascinating where all of these chains lead.
    Rory recently posted..Astonish Me by Maggie ShipsteadMy Profile

    Reply

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge